Have you ever had a permit within the State of Ohio?

Have you ever had a permit within the State of Ohio?

Important Emergency Permit Information:

The law allows for the issuance of an emergency license without proof of competency certification under extraordinary circumstances. The law states that upon receipt of evidence of imminent danger on a sworn affidavit, a license will be issued. This license may be issued to an Ohio resident or non-resident temporarily staying in Ohio.

  • Evidence of imminent danger:
    • A written document from a government entity or public official describing facts that give the person reasonable cause to fear such a criminal attack. Such documents may include, but are not limited to, temporary protection orders, civil protection orders, a protection order of another state, a court order, and any report filed with or made by a law enforcement agency or prosecutor (referral).

The temporary emergency license lasts for 90 days. If you wish to have your license last longer, you must apply for the license through the normal process and present proof of competency certification.

How to Apply:
  • Apply in person Monday – Friday, between the hours of 7am – 2pm at the Hamilton County Sheriff’s Office (Room 100)
  • Bring court documents and a valid state issued ID (e.g. driver’s license)

Have you ever had a permit within the State of Ohio?

Name Change:

To update your permit with a name change, the permit cannot be expired, and you will need legal documentation (e.g. Divorce Decree, Court Documents, or Marriage Certificate).

Address Change:

Technically you have 45 days to Notify us of your address change.  To update your permit with an address change, the permit cannot be expired, and you will need legal documentation (Postal Name Change form, updated Driver’s License).

Requirements and Link to Update:

Click here for a name or address change to your license. No appointment necessary.

  • You will be asked to upload  your court documents and a valid state issued ID (e.g. driver’s license)
Suspended Licenses: 

A suspended license is the result of having disqualifying criminal charges or the issuance of a Protection Order brought against you.

A certified letter with a return receipt requested will be sent to your last known address, stating that your CCW Permit has been suspended. You are required to surrender your CCW license to the Sheriff’s Office within ten days of the date on which the notice was mailed.

In the event that your court case is dismissed, you were found not guilty or any other disposition where you were not convicted (e.g. you completed a deferral program and/or probation) your permit may be reinstated upon review of court documents.

Note:  It is your responsibility to provide the required court documents to re-instate your Permit.  Please understand we have to wait for the court documents to be updated (this may take a few days).

Revoked Licenses: 

A revocation occurs after a conviction of any of the disqualifying offenses, at this time all rights to Concealed Carry are no longer available.  Your Firearms Safety Course Certification is no longer valid and will not be honored.  A new certification course is required after all disqualifying offenses have been expunged or relief of disability has been issued.

Upon scheduling your initial appointment, you were assigned an Order Number, this number will allow you to track your appointment information and allow you to reschedule.

Click here to reschedule your appointment.