HOW LONG IS MY CERTIFICATE GOOD FOR?
Your certificate is good for 3 years from the date on the certificate.
HOW DO I RESCHEDULE MY APPOINTMENT?
Upon scheduling your initial appointment, you were assigned an Order Number, this number will allow you to track your appointment information and allow you to reschedule. Click here to reschedule your appointment.
DO I NEED TO BRING A PHOTO TO MY APPOINTMENT?
No. We will take your photo at the time of your appointment.
IF I HAVE A JUVENILE RECORD, WILL THAT STOP ME FROM OBTAINING A CCW PERMIT?
Juvenile records are reviewed upon application for a CCW permit. See list of Disqualifications.
WHAT HAPPENS IF MY CARD EXPIRES?
Effective June 13th, 2022 Governor DeWine passed SB215 enabling you to carry “permitless” in the state of Ohio. See Constitutional Carry for more information. There are no consequences if you allow your card to expire. There are no additional fees and you do not need to retake a certification class.
WHAT IF I AM UNABLE TO UPLOAD MY DOCUMENTS FOR MY APPOINTMENT?
Please make every attempt to upload your documents as this will expedite the application process. In the event that you are unable to upload the required documents, you must bring them with you to your appointment.
WHAT IF I MISS MY APPOINTMENT? IS THERE A GRACE PERIOD IF I AM LATE FOR MY APPOINTMENT?
You have the ability to go into the account you created and reschedule your appointment at any time. It is important that you are on time for your appointment. Please allow yourself extra time for parking and possibly waiting in line at our office. If you are late, you will be asked to reschedule.
CAN I TRANSFER MY PERMIT FROM ANOTHER STATE?
No, but you can apply for a permit with an out of state certificate. See New Applicant for more information. We do not take certificates from the State of Virginia.
IF I LIVE OUT OF STATE BUT WORK IN OHIO, CAN I GET AN OHIO CCW PERMIT?
Yes. You must provide proof of employment in Ohio. This includes a recent paystub with the employer’s name and address listed on it OR a letter from your employer on company letterhead.
WHAT AM I REQUIRED TO DO IF I MOVE?
By law, you are required to notify the issuing agency within 45 days of moving. If you fail to do so, this could invalidate your license. To update your permit with an address change, the permit cannot be expired.
IS MY PERMIT STILL VALID IF I MOVE OUT OF STATE?
Your permit is valid until it expires. However, you must follow the CCW laws of the state in which you move.
HOW DO I OBTAIN A NEW PERMIT IF MINE WAS LOST OR STOLEN?
Please refer to the Replacement for Lost, Stolen, or Expired Licenses page.
IF I HAVE A MEDICAL MARIJUANA LICENSE, CAN I HAVE A CCW PERMIT?
No. If you currently have a CCW permit and choose to get a medical marijuana license, you must surrender your CCW permit to the issuing sheriff’s agency immediately.
DO I HAVE TO REGISTER MY GUN?
The state of Ohio does not require you to register your gun. If you choose to have it registered, you can do so at your local gun store.